skip to main content
 

Anglo American rough diamond sales value for De Beers’ third sales cycle of 2017

04 Apr 2017

Anglo American plc announces the value of rough diamond sales (Global Sightholder Sales and Auction Sales) for De Beers’ third sales cycle of 2017, amounting to $580 million.

Bruce Cleaver, CEO of De Beers, said: “We saw the continuation of good rough diamond demand in Cycle 3 across the product range. This reflected positive sentiment from our customers following the Hong Kong International Jewellery Show in March.”

  Cycle 3 2017(1)
(provisional)
Cycle 2 2017(2)
(actual)
Cycle 3 2016
(actual)
Sales value(3) $580m $553m $666m

(1) Cycle 3 2017 provisional sales value represents sales as at 3 April 2017.
(2) Cycle 2 2017 actual sales value is restated following the earlier publication of a provisional figure for the second sales cycle of 2017.
(3) Sales values are quoted on a consolidated accounting basis. Auction Sales included in a given cycle are the sum of all sales between the end of the preceding cycle and the end of the noted cycle.

For further information, please contact:

Media Investors
UK UK
James Wyatt-Tilby Paul Galloway
Email: james.wyatt-tilby@angloamerican.com Email: paul.galloway@angloamerican.com
Tel: +44 (0)20 7968 8759 Tel: +44 (0)20 7968 8718
Marcelo Esquivel Trevor Dyer
Email: marcelo.esquivel@angloamerican.com Email: trevor.dyer@angloamerican.com
Tel: +44 (0)20 7968 8891 Tel: +44 (0)20 7968 8992
South Africa Sheena Jethwa
Pranill Ramchander Email: sheena.jethwa@angloamerican.com
Email: pranill.ramchander@angloamerican.com Tel: +44 (0)20 7968 8680
Tel: +27 (0)11 638 2592
Ann Farndell
Email: ann.farndell@angloamerican.com
Tel: +27 (0)11 638 2786

 

 

 

Notes to editors:

Anglo American is a globally diversified mining business. Our portfolio of world-class competitive mining operations and undeveloped resources provides the raw materials to meet the growing consumer-driven demands of the world’s developed and maturing economies. Our people are at the heart of our business. It is our people who use the latest technologies to find new resources, plan and build our mines and who mine, process and move and market our products to our customers around the world.

As a responsible miner - of diamonds (through De Beers), platinum and other precious metals, copper, nickel, iron ore and coal - we are the custodians of what are precious natural resources. We work together with our key partners and stakeholders to unlock the long-term value that those resources represent for our shareholders and for the communities and countries in which we operate – creating sustainable value and making a real difference.

www.angloamerican.com

loading...
Real Mining. Real People. Real Difference.